fbpx

LETS GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Question :
A business owner has given me this question – I work in retail and I applied for and received the Wage Subsidy. I have topped up my staff’s salaries to 80% for the first two weeks, but I have no revenue and I can’t afford to top them up anymore. My accountant has advised me that I can only pay my staff the subsidy from here on in. I have emailed all of my staff and explained our situation and given them notice of this change in pay. I have suggested they could use some of their leave at this point if they wish. Everyone has been receptive and understanding, but I have one staff member who is demanding I pay them the full 80%. I am unsure what I should do. I simply don’t have any revenue. 

Question submitted 09/04/20 @ 01:06pm
Industry: HR & Talent
VIEW
VOTE
  • I can hear the worry in your note. It’s such a challenging time for you – and I’m glad you’re seeking out professional advice. I encourage you to call MSD asap to advise that your situation has changed and you are no longer able to support your employees at 80% of their income as you thought when you applied for the subsidy. You will then need to decide if you are able to retain your employees, and conduct a consultation to advise them of what you propose, and liaise with them in good faith on those changes. Sadly, you may need to consider proposing redundancies if you are unable to come to an agreement with your people. I encourage you to consider some professional support on the HR side, either an employment lawyer or experienced independent HR consultant, to help you tailor your options and run a fair and transparent process. Also have a think about the support you need for you. Do you have a mentor or someone who will understand your business predicament – who can listen and be empathetic as you work your way through your options. Your health and wellbeing is very important too. Take care and best wishes for your next steps. Fiona