fbpx

LETS GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Question :
Hi I have a casual staff member who did average of 20.5 hrs before lockdown and I received  the subsidy for them. I have been paying 100% and now 80% with minimal cashflow. Now we are back at work I can only offer 5-10hours. Do I top up her hours to meet the 80% payment with the subsidy? Thanks 

Question submitted 18/05/20 @ 05:31pm
Industry: HR & Talent
VIEW
VOTE
  • I am not an expert on the employment law so will only answer with this. I’d recommend an open, transparent conversation about the situation. You may need to take it week by week. Aim to look after your GOOD staff and your cash-flow. I appreciate the two don’t often go hand in hand. Good luck

Morena – think about this as ‘two parts’. First part is the Employment Law part – what her contract says, and what the employment law says around any change on the terms of an employees contract. 2nd part is the obligations around the wage subsidy you have received which I assume is a part-time subsidy.

First part – if you are going to change the casual staff member’s terms, then you will need to look at what the contract with her/him says ie does it offer a guaranteed set of hours or is it truly casual ie you can set the hours. Once you have clarity on this, then you still need to consult through this change, explain the reasons why and give her the opportunity to respond etc – just talk to her/him/

Second part – this is a bit of a challenge around the math, but as I understand, your obligation is pass over the full amount of the wage subsidy to the casual that you claimed and got paid by MSD. This has nothing to do with how many hours she works. The way I would work this out is like this:
    1) calculation one – how much is the wage subsidy you are getting for their role = $350 per week
    2) calculation two – how much are you paying her for the 5-10 hours per week. Lets just say you are giving her 10 hours at $25 per hour = $250 for the week.