fbpx

LETS GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Question :
I am a business owner, and I feel like I am continually fighting fires dealing with different issues that have come up from being locked-out, to working virtually, do wage subsidy applications, to bank negotiations and landlord negotiations – my worry is the time that I am not thinking about the ‘big picture’ – what can you give me as a owner around what and how I should be approaching this time? 

Question submitted 03/04/20 @ 01:03pm
Industry: Governance
VIEW
VOTE
  • It’s really hard, especially when others are bored, wondering what to watch next on Netflix. So many of us are feeling exhausted from ‘fire-fighting’ just to keep our businesses, and those we work with, alive. Key for me is trying to prioritise – and to put yourself at the top of your priority list. If you don’t keep yourself mentally and physically well, you won’t be much use to your business.
    Yes, it would be nice to have time to reflect, and to look at the big picture and ‘life after lockdown’, but honestly, I think your number one task right now, from a business perspective is just to stay standing, no matter how wobbly.
    Keep true to your values, do the best you can for your people (even if you can’t save them all, do what’s possible and what’s right) and most importantly, don’t beat yourself up about the things you are not able to do, or don’t feel you’ve done well.
    Be kind applies as much to yourself as to others. Finally, find someone you can talk to, really talk to, someone who will listen, someone you feel it’s okay to cry with – and try to be calm. Calm is contagious. Stay safe.

It’s a good question, but my first response is that the “big picture” for today – and the next two or more months – is your business’ survival. Many of the tasks you mention (wage subsidy applications, bank negotiations, landlord negotiations) are about keeping your doors open.