fbpx

LETS GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Question :
I am a full-time artist who makes acrylic paintings and printed merchandise beginning in 2003. I am fully dependent on my art income and have been so for years. Probably about 70% of what I produce has been going offshore with visitors to New Zealand. I need to make changes. I need a sounding board to help me make them. I like to run my art career without taking from the public purse through funding for the arts. Have I come to the right place? 

Question submitted 06/05/20 @ 10:42am
Industry: Sales
VIEW
VOTE
  • Kia Ora – thank you so much for reaching out for guidance. Your question is a really good one. What we are is a place for business owners to ask questions, seek information and find answers hopefully that make a difference to you. All I can promise is that we provide these – whether that leads to you concluding whether you have come to the right place or not will depend on how you align to the guidance. Here goes for me.

1. Pivoting your business – there are two options for you to consider. First, do you keep producing the same types of of art that you have historically and just find a new distribution model? Second, do you have to now product different types of art or products given your historic customers have come from (a large part) international visitors. The 2nd question is much more challenging for you as it is really a double pivot.