fbpx

LETS GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Question :
Kia ora, I am a Maori designer/strategist and ive been working in the creative industries for the last 10 years. Im also a teacher, a disrupter and a change maker. I’ve built wellbeing strategies for international education providers, i’ve created a Maori and Pacific creative community (and event platform) and i’m now trying to develop a collaborative for maori designers—Im passionate about solving problems in my community. I’ve recently quit my job to pursue work in the community and I run a fulltime freelance design service covering strategy, design, photography and AR/digital production. Im currently trying to rely less on my agents to find me work in the ‘western studio land’ and im seeking out more community social driven work where I work directly with maori businesses. Where can I find this work? I know its out there and I know there’s heaps but for some reason i’m just struggling to find it. What are the spaces I can explore to connect with people in this space?

Question submitted 23/02/21 @ 02:31pm
Industry: Creative Services
VIEW
VOTE
  • Up
    Down

Kia ora
    Wow! It sounds like you have some awesome initiatives going. I love the kaupapa and focus. Now that you know who you want to serve and how, it would be good to refine your business proposition/s and narrative. Then share them with your network – wwbsite, LinkedIn and FB.

My colleague Mihi and I work in a similar space but from a PR/comms perspective. We would be happy to korero and share some ideas.

Have you reached out to TPK yet? There’s also the Facebook community Buy Māori Made, which could be a good avenue for your freelance work. It could also be worth spending some time developing a list of your ideal clients/community projects. Who is doing great mahi out there but could really use your help?