fbpx

LETS GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Question :
kia ora,I’m writing to ask about my prints.  I am an artist who sells entertainment and arts content in physical form and digitally, although things aren’t moving as well as I would hope, in fact I am basically moving nothing at all. I use facebook predominantly as my source for running promotions and can’t afford to run ads right now.  I have two websites: rogerwhiteside.com which is set up in a blog on wordpress and rogerwhiteside.co.nz which is free hosted.I realise I need to perform my music to gain traction with a fan base etc and probably to hold exhiibitions to sell art, I just don’t have any funding behind me to initiate anything.  I have little to no equipment other than a computer, really basic phone and the internet (which actually is a lot and helps heaps).Any advice for what to do next would be amazing and much appreciated thank you.

Question submitted 13/08/20 @ 09:20am
Industry: Creative Services
VIEW
VOTE
  • Kia ora Roger – The best thing you can do right now is to connect to potential customers to build a community with view towards building a relationship with them based on your shared appreciation of art and music. What you need to understand is that approximately only 3% of your total market, let’s call them customers interested in buying local prints, are in buy-now mode at any specific point in time. So, reaching that market is actually pretty tough, and expecting them to buy when they know very little about you is probably a little unrealistic.

As an example, I buy a lot of art and prints, and while your name is familiar to me I can’t say that I’ve ever seen your work before, however I am interested to learn more, view your prints (and see if it appeals to my personal tastes) learn about your story and journey and then decide if theres a print of yours that I’d like to buy.